The Professionals at Musa Publishing

I first noted Musa Publishing on a thread on the forum site, Absolute Write, and decided to send a submission for my manuscript, Road Apples. I was in the midst of the querying process to literary agencies with this manuscript, and in fact at the time the manuscript was being read by two rather prominent literary agents. But when Musa offered me a contract, I didn’t hesitate to sign.

What attracted me to Musa Publishing, aside from their concise business model, was the honesty and energy of the staff, starting with Celina Summers. I felt that with Musa, I would be able to get my work professionally published at the beginning of an era where eBooks would eventually replace the demand for print books, and in that vein, where people like Celina, Kelly, Kerry and Coreen would do everything in their professional capacity to ensure that my work was ready for sale in a timely manner.

Musa and the staff didn’t disappoint. Celina allowed me to further my writer’s voice with Musa by subsequently signing four more books after Road ApplesThe Curious Number (March 2012), Death By Bitter Waters (June 2012), Big Lies in Small Town (September 2012), and Small Town, Add Vice (February 2013). Both Annie Seaton and Melinda Fulton have done amazing work editing, and as a consequence, allowed me to be a better writer. Kelly Shorten’s book covers are not just of professional quality, she’s also very intuitive as an artist. Dominique Eastwick works tirelessly in promotions, and Coreen Montagna’s book designs are outstanding.

As for transparency, I always have the online tool, Delphi, to check my sales or the status of books in their various stages. Timely, communicative, professional and honest—what can I say? I love working with Musa, and feel fortunate to have made the connection. I would recommend Musa Publishing in a heartbeat.

 

Link to my books on Musa Publishing: http://musapublishing.com/index.php?main_page=advanced_search_result&search_in_description=1&zenid=a45e8f058633e5c87a10945b12edf596&keyword=karen+kennedy+samoranos

About karenkennedysamoranos

I am an author based in Northern California, and co-manage a small music education business specializing in jazz performance for students ages 5 through 18.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Professionals at Musa Publishing

  1. Thanks for sharing your experience with Musa, Karen. Best of luck with all your books and your future in publishing.

  2. Helen Hardt says:

    Musa is a great place to be!

  3. Julianne says:

    Congrats to Musa on their anniversary. It’s always interesting and fun to learn how an author came to be with their publishers. And it’s nice to learn about new authors and find new books too.
    I just recently found Musa publishing, and I will be checking out authors and books.
    luvfuzzzeeefaces at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

