An Affair to Remember

Today on my blog, I am hosting professional author, editor, and dear friend, Annie Seaton, who has just released, through Entangled Publishing, under the Indulgence imprint, her novel, “Italian Affair.”

Annie hits the nail on the head of our hearts and loins with this newest release, creating characters that are likable, realistic, and humanly flawed, doing their best in life and love. This is a sweet and hot book I recommend to anyone looking for an unforgettable love affair.

Without further delay, let’s hear from Annie Seaton, on her experiences in writing, and her inspirations for weaving such delightful stories.

Italian Affiar-500

How I came to writing or how writing came to me, and the richness of the life that followed…

 Life takes us on some strange journeys. Just when we think we have it all mapped out, a detour on the road ahead beckons and you have to choose between the safe direct paved road to your destination or the winding, rutted path that will take you thorough uncharted territory

I was a high school principal, fully immersed in a career in education when that winding road beckoned to me. I made a snap decision to retire early, a week into a new school year when I realized education no longer held its appeal.

Financially it may have been a foolhardy decision… but I had made up my mind.

But how to spend my days?

I had always had a burning desire to write and decided to dabble and see if I could do it. I had been writing dry and dusty submissions for education funding for years and had an excellent knowledge of language from my love of reading and study over many years.

My journey along that not so rutted path has brought amazing richness into my life.

How you may ask?

I wrote a book. That book was accepted. I wrote another book… it too was accepted.

I saw an advertisement on a website looking for editors for a small e-publisher. I applied. I did a test edit. I was accepted.

My second book became a bestseller. I kept writing. I submitted more books. I got more contracts. I edited books for other writers and discovered I had a knack for helping them improve their work while keeping their own voice

I started working at a second e-publisher. Life became very busy… but I had no strict schedules. All from the comfort of a chair overlooking the ocean in my living room.

And all of this in two short years.

So how did this foray into uncharted territory enrich my life?

The people I met. My new ‘friends.’ Writers with a burning desire to tell a story, to make a difference. People like me. Other people who understood why I spent a lot of time thinking and dreaming.

Writing words. Creating lives. Solving imaginary problems.

Through my writing and editing, I made connections all over the world and many of these connections have turned into true lifelong real friendships.

So embrace change. Take risks and your life will be richer for it.

Tomas Richards in Italian Affair did that very same thing. Whilst his career was very satisfying financially, there was something missing. Against a perfect Italian romantic backdrop, I have given Tom the opportunity of finding his true self as well as finding his true love. I loved writing his story and I still cry when I read parts of it as he grows in life and love. If you do read it…I hope it makes you laugh, cry and sigh.

* * * *

Thank you for your insights, Annie, and we look forward to your next novel, which is sure to be as memorable as “Italian Affair.”

You can purchase  Annie Seaton’s book, and begin your own amazing journey through “Italian Affair,” at:

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Italian-Affair-ebook/dp/B00CNTTEAI

Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/italian-affair-annie-seaton/1115375432?ean=9781622661374&isbn=9781622661374

iTunes

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/italian-affair/id645263903?mt=11

 

 

About karenkennedysamoranos

I am an author based in Northern California, and co-manage a small music education business specializing in jazz performance for students ages 5 through 18.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An Affair to Remember

  1. This couldn’t have come at a better time for me, Annie! I just posted on my website that I’m losing my job of over 16 years. The change can be scary, but there’s always the up-side to focus on, and maybe where we’re heading is the right place to be. Thank you so much for the encouragement 🙂

  2. tracyaward says:

    That’s a great story! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Annie Seaton says:

    My pleasure, Tracy!

  4. Coleen Kwan says:

    An amazing writing journey, Annie. Wishing you mega sales with the Italian affair!

  5. Chris Cannon says:

    As an educator with 20 years in the system, and ten more to go, I loved reading about your journey. I dream of the day I can retire and write full time.

  6. Misty Dietz says:

    Annie, I totally relate to your happiness at finding other writers who share your passion. I don’t have any friends in town who write, but my many online buddies have become my lifeline. Congrats on your release and all your many successes! 🙂

  7. I love your comment about the riches writing has brought you. Not money– LOL, although that would be nice– but the people we meet, the stories we get to tell, the lives we touch… It’s an incredible thing to do. Great interview, Annie!

  8. Annie Seaton says:

    Thanks Tracey and Misty…I love my writing life and my writing friends.

  9. Annie Seaton says:

    Chris…do it! You deserve a medal…it is a hard profession these days.

  10. Annie Seaton says:

    Thanks Coleen and Tracy for calling in!

Leave a Reply

