Mary Burke for Governor?

20131024_Burke

According to an email I received from an organization known as Emily’s List, Mary Burke of Wisconsin is the woman to beat current Governor Scott Walker in the next election. Mary Burke seems like a lovely woman, with a winning smile and an educated soul.

You can find Ms. Burke’s political campaign here.

But I’m mystified as to why I received this email. I am not currently, nor have I ever been a resident of America’s Dairyland. Heck, I’ve never even traveled east of the Rockies.  I have been a registered Democrat since the age of 18, so this may be the list the Burke campaign is trolling for doners. By the way, you can lay the blame for me being a Democrat n my adoptive parents who were liberal educators (though try to engage my mother in a conversation about sex, and her brain will immediately implode).

My financial burdens are such that I never place myself in a position to donate my hard-earned money to any political campaign, including the drive to defeat bond Measure J in Santa Clara, which funded the San Francisco 49er’s stadium. Maybe if I’d had a couple of bucks to toss into the hat, that monstrosity would now be located in San Jose. And then some other poor soul could view its naked hallowed skeleton from their front step.

levis-stadium

Anyway, I digress.

The email regarding the Burke for Governor campaign went on, explaining how Ms. Burke would create jobs, blah, blah, blah…blah…

And my email response:

“Politicians do not create jobs. The private sector does that. However, I wish Mary Burke all the best, as I am a Democrat, and would like to have most Republicans soundly trounced out of office (except for Gov. Chris Christie, who seems to have the gift of an objective and open mind). I am sorry, but I cannot afford to donate to Mary Burke’s campaign, as I currently pay in excess of $2100.00 per month for my heath care insurance. But you don’t see me asking you for money to solve my medical challenges.”

Actually, my current monthly invoice for health insurance stands at $2,117.58 for a family of four. I may have to rent out my left kidney in order to pay this month’s premium, because I sure as hell don’t have the money, despite the auspices of the Affordable Care Act. But, come on, who’s being nit-picky?

About karenkennedysamoranos

I am an author based in Northern California, and co-manage a small music education business specializing in jazz performance for students ages 5 through 18.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

